Common Core


The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are the result of a collaboration among most U.S. states and many American educational institutions. Built on the achievements of the past individual state standards, they also incorporate the recent insights of parents, students, business leaders, and educational professionals and scholars (including leaders in higher education) throughout the country and around the world.


The standards will take full effect in the 2014-15 school year, and will focus on the two foundational academic subjects in American classrooms:


  1. English Language Arts (ELA), and
  2. Mathematics.


Though the CCSS do not include separate standards for other subjects, all teachers are expected to teach literacy in their own area. Within the ELA standards, California's implementation will include Literacy Standards for History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects. Special attention is given English Language Learners and students with disabilities.


The new, internationally benchmarked standards will require new emphases in curriculum, teaching methods, and student assessment. However, they do not indicate how a subject will be taught, but rather establish the knowledge, concepts, and skills that are to be learned. In an increasingly globally competitive future, these changes are intended to engender increased student achievement that better supports student preparedness for college and career.





© 2014-2015 Bayshore Elementary School District

1 Martin Street, Daly City, CA 94014

415.467.5443 Phone | 415.467.1542 Fax